Colette 1016: Ginger Skirt

Back again!

I mentioned in my previous post that I was working on Colette Patterns’ Ginger skirt, I recently finished the skirt (and by that I mean I finished it in May, whoops!) and I absolutely love it! It was my first time using a Liberty lawn, in an absolutely gorgeous floral. It was a dream to work with and I got it from this great little store in Halifax called Patch.

DSCF1993I love a Colette pattern, as you may have been able to guess by the many other Colette patterns I  have made in the past, and just like the others the Ginger was a wonder to work with. I made version 2 of the Ginger skirt with the scalloped waistband. It’s a beautiful detail that really adds a unique touch to a fairly simple a-line skirt.

DSCF1997I also finished my seams using a bias tape. It was a little extra effort but it made for a beautifully clean finish. I’m trying to expand my options for seam finishes beyond the zigzag stitch!

DSCF1994

Another first, I installed an invisible zipper! It isn’t the most flawless looking zipper, but hopefully with more practice I can master the art. I think for my next one I’ll try to get a little closer to the teeth, otherwise it leaves sort of a gap making my invisible zipper a lot more visible 😦

DSCF1996Overall the Ginger was a beautiful skirt, with a flattering fit! I’m thinking about making another with a simplified waistband, maybe for fall? This one is perfect for summer days, especially weekends at the farmer’s market 🙂

DSCF1998    DSCF1989edit

One thought on “Colette 1016: Ginger Skirt

Leave a Reply

